Home > Delhi Daredevils

Delhi Daredevils

The Delhi Daredevils is a franchise cricket team representing the city of Delhi in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Founded in 2008 one of the eight founding teams of the IPL, the Delhi franchise is owned by the GMR Group. Their home grounds are the Feroz Shah Kotla Ground in Delhi and the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Cricket Stadium in Chhattisgarh. qualified for Champions League T20 twice, making the Finals in the 2012 edition. However, in recent seasons, the team has strong attack, often ending up as wooden spooners(last in points table). They appointed the Australian legend Ricky Ponting as their Head Coach on 4 January 2018.

The leading run-scorer of Delhi Daredevils is Virender Sehwag while the leading wicket-taker is Amit Mishra.

Indian Premier League is a cricket tournament organized by the Board of control for cricket in India (BCCI) and backed by the International Cricket Council (ICC) For the inaugural tournament held in April–June 2008, the BCCN had finalized a list of 8 teams who will be participating in the tournament. The teams representing 8 different cities of India, including Delhi, were put up on auction in Mumbai on 20 February 2008 and the Delhi team was successfully bid for by the property development company GMR Group, who paid US$84 million for Delhi Daredevils.

The table below shows the number of matches played by Delhi Daredevils in IPL and shows the result of the matches.

Edition Played Won Loss Tied No Result Win%
IPL 2008 15 7 7 1 50%
IPL 2009 15 10 5 66.67%
IPL 2010 14 7 7 50%
IPL 2011 14 4 9 1 30.77%
IPL 2012 18 11 7 61.11%
IPL 2013 16 3 13 18.75%
IPL 2014 14 2 12 14.28%
IPL 2015 14 5 8 1 35.70%
IPL 2016 14 7 7 50%
IPL 2017 14 6 8 42.85%
OVERALL 142 62 83 3 43.66%



Shreyas Iyer Chris Morris (South Africa)
Rishabh Pant Glenn Maxwell (Australia)
Gautam Gambhir Jason Roy (England)
Mohammed Shami Colin Munro (New Zealand)
Amit Mishra Kagiso Rabada (South Africa)
Prithvi Shaw Daniel Christian (Australia)
Rahul Tewatia Trent Boult (New Zealand)
Vijay Shankar Sandeep Lamichhane (Nepal)
Harshal Patel
Avesh Khan
Shahbaz Nadeem
Jayant Yadav
Gurkeerat Singh
Manjot Kalra
Ankit Sharma
Abhishek Sharma
Naman Ojha
Sayan Ghosh