Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Home > News > IPL – All you need to know about it

IPL – All you need to know about it


The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India played during April and May of every year by teams representing Indian cities. It was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in the year 2007.It is the most-attended cricket league in the world and in 2014 it was ranked sixth by average attendance among all sports leagues. In 2010, the IPL became the first sporting event in the world to be broadcasted live on YouTube. The brand value of IPL in 2017 was ₹3,43,51,95,00,000(US$5.3billion). According to BCCI, the 2015 IPL season contributed ₹11.5 billion (US$182 million) to the Gross Domestic Product(GDP) of the Indian economy.

The current IPL title holders are the Mumbai Indians, who won the 2017 season(IPL 10) against Rising Pune Supergiants by 1 run only.

The total number of teams participating this year would be 8 which are as follows:

1. Mumbai Indians

2. Delhi Daredevils

3. Royal Challengers Bangalore

4. Chennai Super Kings

5. Rajasthan Royals

6. Kings XI Punjab

7. Sunrisers Hyderabad

8. Kolkata Knight Riders


Format of Indian Premier League

Currently, with eight teams, each team plays each other twice in a home-and-away(one match at the team’s ground and the other at rival team’s ground) format in the league phase. At the conclusion of the league stage, the top four teams qualify for the playoffs. The top two teams from the league phase will play against each other in the First Qualifying Match, with the winner going straight to the final and the loser getting another chance to qualify for the IPL final by playing the second Qualifying Match.The third and fourth placed teams from league phase play against each other in an eliminator match and the winner from that match will play the loser from the first Qualifying match. The winner of the second Qualifying Match will move onto the final to play the winner of the first Qualifying Match in the Final match, where the winner will be crowned the Indian Premier League champions and the final match is played at the ground of the team who is current holder of the trophy.

Player acquisition & Replacements

A team can acquire players through any of the three ways: the annual player auction, trading players with other teams during the trading windows, and signing replacements for unavailable players. Players sign up for the auction and also set their base price, and are bought by the franchise that bids the highest for them. Unsold players at the auction are eligible to be signed up as replacement signings. In the trading windows, a player can only be traded with his consent, with the franchise paying the difference if any between the old and new contract. If the new contract is worth more than the older one, the difference is shared between the player and the franchise selling the player. There are generally three trading windows–two before the auction, and one after the auction but before the start of the tournament. Players can not be traded outside the trading windows or during the tournament, whereas replacements can be signed before or during the tournament.

Some of the team composition rules (as of latest 2018 season) are as follows:

  • The squad strength must be between 18 to 25 players, with a maximum of 8 overseas players.
  • Salary cap of the entire squad must not exceed ₹80 crores.
  • Under -19 players can not be picked unless they have previously played First-Class or List A cricket.

Prize money

The 2015 season of the IPL had a total prize money of ₹40 crores(US$6.2 million), with the winning team netting ₹15 crore (US$2.3 million). The first and second runners up received 10 and 7.5 crores, respectively, with the fourth placed team also winning 7.5 crores. The other teams are not awarded any prize money. The IPL rules mandate that half of the prize money must be distributed among the players of the winning team.


IPL games utilise television timeouts and hence there is no time limit in which teams must complete their innings. However, a penalty may be imposed if the umpires find teams misusing this privilege. Each team is given a two-and-a-half-minute “strategic timeout” during each innings; one must be taken by the bowling team between the ends of the 6th and 9th over, and one by the batting team between the 13th and 16th over.

Awards During the Tournament

1. Orange Cap

The Orange Cap is awarded to the top run-scorer in the IPL during a season usually worn by a batsman/wicketkeeper. It is an ongoing competition with the holder wearing the cap throughout the tournament until the final game, with the eventual winner keeping the cap for the season.

2. Purple Cap

The Purple Cap is awarded to the top wicket-taker in the IPL during a season usually worn by a bowler. It is an ongoing competition with the holder wearing the cap throughout the tournament until the final game, with the eventual winner keeping the cap for the season.


Chinese smartphone manufacturer Vivo currently holds the sponsorship of the league since the last year.In June 2017, Vivo retained the rights for the next five seasons (2018–2022) with a winning bid of ₹2199 crore (439.8 crores per year), in a deal more expensive than Barclays’ Premier League title sponsorship contract between 2013 and 2016.


The IPL’s broadcast rights were originally held by a partnership between Sony Pictures Networks and World Sport Group(WSG), under a ten-year contract valued at US$1.026 billion. Sony would be responsible for domestic television, while WSG would handle international distribution.The initial plan was for 20% of these proceeds to go to the IPL, 8% as prize money and 72% would be distributed to the franchisees from 2008 until 2012, after which the IPL would go public and list its shares.However, in March 2010, IPL decided not to go public and list its shares.As of the 2016 season, Sony MAX, Sony SIX, and Sony ESPN served as the domestic broadcasters of the IPL; MAX and SIX aired broadcasts in Hindi, while SIX also aired broadcasts in the Bengali, Tamil, and Telugu languages.Sony ESPN broadcasts English-language feeds.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this:
000webhost logo