Home > Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians


The Mumbai Indians is a franchise cricket team representing the city of Mumbai, Maharashtra, in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The franchise is owned by India’s biggest conglomerate, Reliance Industries, through its 100% subsidiary IndiaWin Sports. The primary home ground of the Mumbai Indians is the Wankhede Stadium of Mumbai.

Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in the IPL. They won the 2011 Champions League Twenty20 after beating Royal Challengers Bangalore by 31 runs in the final. The team won its first IPL title, in 2013, by defeating Chennai Super Kings by 23 runs in the final, and then defeated the Rajasthan Royals by 33 runs to win its second Champions League Twenty20 title later that year.They won their second IPL title on 24 May 2015 by defeating the Chennai Super Kings by 41 runs in the final and became the third team to win more than one IPL title. On 21 May 2017,Mumbai Indians won their third IPL title by defeating the Rising Pune Supergiants by 1 run in the final, thus becoming the first team to win three titles.While playing the tournament, they won their 100th T20, becoming the first team to do so.

Mumbai Indians are currently captained by Rohit Sharma. Mahela Jayawardene has been appointed as the new head coach of Mumbai Indians for the 2018 season. Rohit Sharma is the leading run scorer of the team while Lasith Malinga is the leading wicket taker.

The table below shows the number of matches played by Mumbai Indians in IPL and also shows the result of the matches:

Year Total Wins Losses No result % win
2008 14 7 7 0 50.00%
2009 14 5 8 1 35.71%
2010 16 11 5 0 68.75%
2011 16 10 6 0 62.50%
2012 17 10 7 0 58.82%
2013 19 13 6 0 68.42%
2014 15 7 8 0 46.67%
2015 16 10 6 0 62.50%
2016 14 7 7 0 50%
2017 14 10 4 0 71.42%
Total 142 81 60 1 57.04%


Rohit Sharma (Captain) Kieron Pollard (Windies)
Hardik Pandya Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)
Jasprit Bumrah Pat Cummins (Australia)
Suryakumar Yadav Evin Lewis (Windies)
Krunal Pandya Ben Cutting (Australia)
Ishan Kishan JP Duminy (South Africa)
Rahul Chahar Jason Behrendorff (Australia)
Saurabh Tiwary Akila Dhananjaya (Sri Lanka)
Pradeep Sangwan
Tajinder Dhillon
Sharad Lumba
Siddhesh Lad
Aditya Tare
Mayank Markande
Anukul Roy
Mohsin Khan
Nidheesh MD Dinesan