Home > Royal Challengers Bangalore

Royal Challengers Bangalore


The Royal Challengers Bangalore is a franchise cricket team based in Bangalore, Karnataka, that plays in the Indian Premier League (IPL). One of the original eight teams in the IPL, the team has made three final appearances in the IPL, losing all of them (in 2009 to the Deccan Chargers, in 2011 to the Chennai Super Kings and in 2016 to the Sunrisers Hyderabad). The team also finished runners-up in the 2011 CLT20, losing the final against the Mumbai Indians.

The home ground of the Royal Challengers is the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore. The team is currently captained by Virat Kohli and coached by Daniel Vettori. The team holds the records of both the highest and the lowest total in the IPL (263/5 and 49).

Indian Premier League is a cricket tournament organised by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and backed by the International Cricket Council (ICC). For the inaugural tournament held in April–June 2008, the BCCI had finalised a list of 8 teams who will be participating in the tournament. The teams representing 8 different cities of India, including Bangalore, were put up on auction in Mumbai on 20 February 2008 and the Bangalore team was owned by Vijay Mallya, who paid US$111.6 million for it. This was the second highest bid for a team in the IPL, next only to Reliance Industries Ltd.’s bid of $111.9 million for the Mumbai Indians team.



Virat Kohli (Captain) AB de Villiers (South Africa)
Sarfaraz Khan Brendon McCullum (New Zealand)
Umesh Yaadav Chris Woakes (England)
Yuzvendra Chahal Colin de Grandhomme (New Zealand)
Manan Vohra Moeen Ali (England)
Kulwant Khejroliya Quinton de Kock (South Africa)
Aniket Choudhary Nathan Coulter-Nile (Australia)
Navdeep Saini Tim Southee (New Zealand)
Murugan Ashwin
Mandeep Singh
Washington Sundar
Pawan Negi
Mohammed Siraj
Anirudha Joshi
Parthiv Patel
Pavan Deshpande