Home > Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderabad


The Sunrisers Hyderabad is a franchise cricket team based in Hyderabad, Telangana, that plays in the Indian Premier League (IPL). This is owned by Kalanithi Maran of the Sun TV channel Network and was founded in 2012 after the Hyderabad-based Deccan Chargers were terminated by the IPL. The team made an appearance in the IPL playoffs in its first season in 2013 and won its maiden title in the 2016 season.

The team is currently lead by David Warner & coached by Tom Moody. The primary home ground of the team is the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad.

Sunrisers Hyderabad replaced the Deccan Chargers in 2012 and made a debut in the year 2013. They retained 20 players from the Chargers, which left slots open for 13 players (eight Indian, five overseas). They filled six of these with Thisara Perera, Darren Sammy, Sudeep Tyagi, Nathan McCullum, Quinton de Kock and Clint McKay. The team was announced in Chennai on 18 December 2012.

The team jersey was unveiled on 8 March 2013, and the team anthem composed by G. V. Prakash Kumar was released on 12 March 2013. Their logo was unveiled on 20 December 2012, along with the announcement that the team’s management would be led by Kris Srikkanth, Tom Moody and VVS Laxman.

The table below shows the number of matches played by Sunriser Hyderabad in IPL and also the result of the matches:

Year Played
Tied  SuccessRate(%)
2013 17 10 7 0 1 58.82%
2014 14 6 8 0 0 42.86%
2015 14 7 7 0 0 50.00%
2016 17 11 6 0 0 64.70%
2017 15 8 6 1 0 57.14%



Bhuvneshwar Kumar David Warner (Captain)( Australia)
Shikhar Dhawan Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh)
Manish Pandey Kane Williamson (New Zealand)
Yusuf Pathan Carlos Brathwaite(West Indies)
Wriddhiman Saha Rashid Khan (Afghanistan)
Ricky Bhui Chris Jordan(England)
Deepak Hooda Billy Stanlake(Australia)
Siddarth Kaul
T Natarajan
Basil Thampi
Syed Khaleel Ahmed
Sandeep Sharma
Sachin Baby
Tanmay Agarwal
Shreevats Goswami
Bipul Sharma
Mehdi Hasan