Home > Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings

The Chennai Super Kings is a franchise cricket team based in Chennai, Tamil Nadu, which plays in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Founded in 2008, the team plays it’s home matches at the M. A. Chidambaram Stadium of Chennai. After serving a two-year suspension from the IPL starting July 2015 for the alleged involvement of their owners in the 2013 Indian Premier League betting case, the Super Kings will return to the league in 2018 season.Prior to the suspension, the team was captained by Mahendra Singh Dhoni and coached by Stephen Fleming.

The Super Kings have won the IPL title twice (in 2010 and 2011), and have the best win percentage among all teams in the IPL (60.68). In addition, they have also won the Champions League Twenty20 in the yaer 2010 and 2014. The leading run-scorer of the team is Suresh Raina, while the leading wicket-taker is Ravichandran Ashwin. The brand value of the Super Kings in 2015 was estimated at $67 million, making them the third most valuable franchise in the IPL.

The Chennai franchise was sold to the India Cements for $91 million, making it the fourth most expensive team in the league behind Mumbai, Bangalore and Hyderabad. India Cements acquired the rights to the franchisee for 10 years. Former ICC Chairman N. Srinivasan was the de facto owner of the Chennai Super Kings, by means of his position as the vice-chairman and managing director of India Cements Ltd. The franchisee was transferred to a separate entity named Chennai Super Kings Cricket Limited, after the Supreme Court of India struck down the controversial amendment to the BCCI constitution’s clause 6.2.4 that allowed board officials to have a commercial interest in the IPL and the Champions League T20 on January 22, 2015.

The table below shows the number of matches played by Chennai Super Kings in IPL and shows the result of the matches.

 Summary of Results
Year Matches Wins Losses No Result Tied Success Rate
2008 16 9 7 0 0 56.25%
2009 15 8 6 1 0 53.33%
2010 16 9 7 0 0 56.25%
2011 16 11 5 d 0 68.75%
2012 20 11 8 1 0 57.89%
2013 18 12 6 0 0 61.11%
2014 16 10 6 0 0 62.50%
2015 17 10 7 0 0 58.8%
2016 N.A
2017 N.A
Total 132 79 51 2 0 59.84



MS Dhoni (Captain) Faf du Plessis (South Africa)
Ravindra Jadeja Dwayne Bravo (West Indies)
Suresh Raina Shane Watson (Australia)
Harbhajan Singh Imran Tahir (South Africa)
Kedar Jadhav Mitchell Santner (New Zealand)
Ambati Rayudu Lungisani Ngidi (South Africa)
Karan Sharma Sam Billings (England)
Shardul Thakur Mark Wood (England)
Jagadeesan Narayan
Deepak Chahar
Asif KM
Kanish Seth
Dhruv Shorey
Murali Vijay
Kshitiz Sharma
Monu Singh
Chaitanya Bishnoi